Dua Lipa Is My Fashion Icon — She Should Be Yours, Too

The Modish Mix
4 min readApr 29, 2021

--

She can rock almost any hairstyle and color, any type of outfit, any bag, and any shoe. Her first big hit was “Blow Your Mind” in 2016 and her first album, “Dua Lipa” was also released in 2017, consisting of songs that may be familiar to you such as, “New Rules” and “IDGAF”. One of her songs, “Don’t Start Now” blew up on Tik-Tok, however, she has started to prove herself as a new artist by not only releasing some upbeat and catchy new songs and albums, but also stepping out and dressing out in the fashion world.

If you have heard her newest song “Levitating” feat. DaBaby I can guarantee Dua Lipa is on your radar. I mean, come on, even my almost 50 year-old dad (sorry dad) loves that song. It is already huge on Spotify and Apple Music, the radio, and many social media platforms, and for me personally, it will be on repeat all summer long.

Fun fact: Dua Lipa is dating Anwar Hadid. No wonder she has such great style… fashion is around her all the time. Her “sister-in-laws” are Bella and Gigi Hadid!

The Hadid Family with Dua Lipa
My heart can’t take it… my OTP!

My fashion icons consist of Dua Lipa, Sofia Richie, and Kendall Jenner. But, if I had to pick one, it would be Dua Lipa without hesitation. She can go from casually relaxing in the backyard in jean shorts and a tank top in L.A., to street style and trench coats in New York City, and glitz and glam at award shows in Hollywood.

Let’s Style Dua Lipa!

Dolce & Gabbana Patchwork Bustier Top

I think Dua Lipa would rock this Dolce & Gabbana Patchwork Bustier Top.

These simple, caramel brown leather pants would go perfectly with the statement top above.

Burberry Women’s Trench Coat

This Burberry Trench Coat is easy to slip on an off, can be buttoned or unbuttoned, and is a simple statement to a classy outfit.

Gucci White GG Marmont Fringed Loafer Heels

Classy but sassy Gucci loafers to go with an already decked-out-in-designer outfit.

Gucci Dionysus Red Leather Mini Bag

And of course, her outfit wouldn’t be perfected without the Dionysus Gucci leather crossbody that I drool over every time I see.

Dua Lipa Inspired Outfit

If you’re like me, you want to dress just like Dua Lipa, but, you don’t have the money. Below, I am going to link some affordable options and dupes that remind me of something Dua Lipa would wear. When you find your fashion icon, get to know their style and go from there! I promise if you study what they wear, you will automatically start to follow in their taste footsteps.

Superdown Mini Bustier Dress
Ellen Jacket
White Knee High Boots
Vistatroy Women’s Evening Bag

--

--

The Modish Mix

Look books, how-to's, and various tips and tricks on how to live an elevated lifestyle on a college student's budget.