Get Ready With Me — Everyday Products For Girls Who Suck at Makeup

The Modish Mix
6 min readAug 10, 2021

--

As much as I love getting ready for a fun day or night out, I am no makeup expert… like at all. If you look at my Tik-Tok saved videos and YouTube subscriptions, they consists of easy makeup tutorials, tips, and tricks that I try my best to follow. Read below to see some of my personal favorite makeup products that I have been obsessed with recently, and coming from a girl who does the bare minimum when it comes to putting on makeup, you should probably open your wallets, grab your keys, and head to Ulta.

BUT to start… my favorite YouTube channel…

If you know me, you know I love all things Vogue. My favorite type of videos on Vogue’s channel (besides 73 Questions) are the “Beauty Secrets” videos. Through the years, I have learned so much about makeup and skincare from watching these. Remember, learning what’s best for you in the realm of makeup is all about practice and mastering your look, but if you have absolutely no idea where to start, I highly recommend binging the “Beauty Secrets” videos. You might even see one of your favorite celebrities!

Face Wash

I have been using the Cetaphil Daily Facial Cleanser since the day that I started washing my face. It’s simple and easy, perfect for people with sensitive skin (like me). I have never really been able to fluctuate with my face wash because of how acne-prone and sensitive my skin is, but this face wash works wonders. I use the “Daily Facial Cleanser” over the “Gentle Skin Cleanser” simply because of the texture difference. The “Daily Facial Cleanser” foams when you wash, while the “Gentle Skin Cleanser” is more of a thick, milky (ew… sorry for that) consistency. Personally, if I don’t see suds and bubbles when I am rubbing in my face wash, it makes me think it’s not doing anything for my skin.

Moisturizer

elta MD Tinted Moisturizer with SPF

I put this moisturizer on every day, no matter the weather. It is so important to protect your skin, especially your face, from the sun. If you have sensitive skin, me too, so don’t worry, because this tinted moisturizer with SPF is dermatologist recommended.

How to use:

Get a dime-sized droplet and rub in on your face, neck, and ears. It is so important to rub moisturizer, especially tinted moisturizer, down to your neck.

Facial Serum

Vitamin Sea Dead Sea Minerals & Vitamin C Toning Skin Serum

The benefit of using a toning serum is that it balances out your skin tone and brightens your complexion. If you have dark under eyes or uneven spots of color on your skin, this toning serum will help balance that out. It is my favorite!

How to use:

Put a few droplets on skin before moisturizing (I usually do a drop on my forehead and one on each of my cheeks… a little goes a long way). Moisturize after toning serum is rubbed in.

Foundation

Clinique “Even Better” Foundation

Tip:

Avoid putting foundation under your eyes to prevent creasing over time.

Concealer

Tarte Shape Tape Concealer — Shade “Fair-Light-Neutral”

Tip:

Put concealer under your eyes in an upward, cat-eye motion to “lift” your face.

Powder

Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder

Tip:

Only put setting powder in places where you have applied heavier amounts of concealer. I like to have a more dewy complexion, so I usually just put setting powder under my eyes and throughout my T-zone.

Bronzer

Tarte Shape Tape Concelear — Shade “Deep Honey” (used as liquid bronzer)

How to use:

I use this dark shade of the Shape Tape concealer to act as a liquid contour/bronzer. I have found that using a liquid bronzer allows for more definition on your face than a powder bronzer. Blend with a beauty blender.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Powder Bronzer

How to use:

Apply powder bronzer onto spots where you applied liquid bronzer to help set the liquid.

Blush

Glossier “Cloud Paint Blush” — Shade “Spark” and “Puff”
Milani Baked Powder Blush

How to use:

First I apply liquid blush and then go over with a little powder blush to act as a setting powder, much like the idea of the bronzer. I always apply my blush on my cheekbones instead of the apples of my cheeks because it allows for a more lifted face look. I also like using blush with a little bit of sparkle to act as extra highlighter.

Eyebrows

Glossier “Boy Brow”

How to use:

I have long, dark, and thick eyebrows, so I prefer to have a fluffy brow look which is why I use the Boy Brow instead of an eyebrow pencil. My eyebrows don’t need any shaping, if anything, they need a little more fluff and darkness. I used to hate the idea of filling in my eyebrows, mostly because I could never get it right. This product changed the fate of my eyebrows, and now I can’t do my makeup routine without applying this product.

Mascara

Telescopic Mascara
Too Faced “Better Than Sex” Mascara
Glossier “Lash Stick” Mascara

How to use:

This may seem a little extra and crazy, but I use three different types of mascara because they all make my eyelashes look different. Telescopic adds length to your lashes, while Better Than Sex adds darkness and thickness. I start with Telescopic, let the first coat almost dry, and then go over with Better Than Sex. I use the Glossier lash stick on my bottom lashes.

Eyeshadow

Tartelette “In Bloom” Palette
Too Faced “Natural Eyes” Palette
Morphe “35O Supernatural Glow Artistry Palette”
Naked Urban Decay “Smoky”

How to use:

Remember — dark in the creases and light on the lids. Add a little light sparkle in the corners of your eyes to brighten the look.

Highlighter

Cali Contour Blush, Highlighter, & Bronzer Face Palette

Lips

Quickliner For Lips Intense
Maracuja Juicy Lip
Maneater Plumping Gloss

Setting Spray

Shape Tape™ Stay Spray Vegan Setting Spray
Morphe Continuous Setting Mist

How to use:

Apply after putting all liquids on your face (bronzer, blush, etc). Then apply powder products, and set again at the end.

Eyeliner

Too Faced “Natural Eyes” Palette — Shade “Chocolate Martini”
Angled Liner Brush

How to use:

I prefer to use a dark shade of eyeshadow as eyeliner instead of a pencil or a pen. I like a more smudged, natural look instead of something so static. Plus, using eyeshadow leaves more room for error because it is easy to correct and wipe off. Perfect for me because I make lots of errors!

Discovering the way that you like to do your makeup is all about practice and trial and error. I still like to play around with makeup and try to see if there is anything I’m doing in my normal routine that I want to change or add. Remember, it is so important to use makeup to enhance your features, not to change them.

--

--

The Modish Mix

Look books, how-to's, and various tips and tricks on how to live an elevated lifestyle on a college student's budget.